Paleo Cornbread Mini Muffins

This paleo diet really blows my mind. While I don’t necessarily argue against any single thing they choose to eat, the premise of it is what is most mind-boggling to me. In particular, I just can’t wrap my head around paleo baked goods. Imagining a caveman making mini muffins makes me laugh- I was laughing so hard this morning when I tried to explain to my husband the idea behind paleo and what paleo mini muffins really were. Questions arose: Where do these cavemen buy their muffin tins or mini paper cups? What type of oven could a cavemen even begin to use? Even fire-roasted muffins makes more sense… While this is most definitely a laughing matter, the actual ingredients going into these muffins were inviting and I could imagine it being quite tasty. Hence, my first attempt at reproducing caveman mini muffins began. I chose to make these mini although the original recipe called for regular muffins because I just happen to own 2 mini muffin tins; I’m really not much of a muffin-maker. You could say muffins are a “missing link” in my kitchen. But these mini tins are just so baby! How can I pass that up?

Mmmm... Tasty....

Mmmm… Tasty….

The recipe comes from the Paleo Cupboard, adapted here for mini muffins (the cooking time gets shorter). Of course, these are actually corn-less cornbread as apparently cavemen did not eat corn. Corn came later. With the Mayans.

Ingredients

– 1/2 cup coconut flour
– 1/2 tsp. sea salt
– 4 large eggs, room temperature
– 2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
– 2 & 1/2 tbsp. unsweetened applesauce (I just grated a peeled, medium size apple since I don’t generally have applesauce in the fridge)
– 2 & 1/2 tbsp. raw honey, warmed
– 1/2 cup coconut oil, warmed

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Stir the coconut flour and sea salt  together in a small mixing bowl with a fork until well combined and all clumps are broken apart. Set aside.
2. Blend the eggs, applesauce and vinegar in a food processor or blender for about 5 seconds. Keep the blender on and slowly add in the warmed honey and coconut oil and blend for another 5 seconds or until combined.
3. Add the dry ingredients and blend until well combined (about 10 seconds).
4. Pour into lined muffin tin, filling each one about 3/4 of the way full. I filled both tins and there was some left over.
5. Bake for 13-15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. They should be just a bit brown on top, but mostly yellow.
6. Remove from oven and allow to sit for 5-10 minutes before removing from muffin tin and serving.

Coming Out of the Oven

Coming Out of the Oven

Corn-less Cornbread Mini Muffins for Cavemen

Corn-less Cornbread Mini Muffins for Cavemen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For your enjoyment, here is a photo of a cavemen coming out of hibernation, enjoying these mini muffins. His name is Coconut Borg but some people call him Borgonut.

Borgonut, aka Cocoborg, aka Coconut Borg

Borgonut the Caveman, and his Mini-Muffin

One thought on “Paleo Cornbread Mini Muffins

Leave a Reply

